Polyamorous Fangirling

Main Entry:   polyamorous

Part of Speech:   adj

Definition:   pertaining to participation in multiple and simultaneous loving relationships

Polyamorous may not be the quite the word I’m looking for, but its close. There is a certain kind of love or maybe a better word is adoration on the part of fans to the object of their fan tendencies. At the least, we admire the person whose career we follow enough to spend time watching their work, reading or watching their interviews, looking at pictures and so on. I’ve mildly followed the careers of actors in the past, but didn’t really become a fangirl until I discovered Richard Armitage.

So why am I talking about being a polyamorous fan? Recently one of our fellow RA fans started following the career of another actor. Now, this may not effect many people, but she’s someone I’m close enough to in cyberland that I’ve been shown videos, pictures and audio clips. And now, thanks to Snicker’s mom, I’m absolutely hooked! You know you are in trouble when you are watching YouTube video after YouTube video because they make you laugh and smile. This is one is my favorites by the way! And really, how can you not like the guy when he Tweets pictures like this?

Don’t worry, Richard Armitage is still my main fangirl squeeze–but that Tom Hiddleston–he’s quickly becoming my bit on the side. I’m finding that my fangirling tendencies towards RA are now applying to TH–like watching the YouTube vids and the desire to find and watch all of his works to date. All I can say is: with a smile like this is it any wonder?

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , ,

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “Polyamorous Fangirling

  1. Randomly going to say that there should be no shame or dismay at adoring Tom Hiddleston. He deserves all the fangirling that can be mustered.

  2. Sorry, jasrangoon, can’t follow, but please enjoy! – Good, I admit, I have a strange … – I do not like quite a lot of famous actors. This was the reason, why RA took me so entirely by surprise ;o)

    • I didn’t expect my fellow RA fans to follow me into my Hiddleston love. Honestly, I didn’t expect to follow Snicker’s Mom into hers, but oh well! 😉

  3. Snicker's Mom

    Pretty soon I am going to be known as Gandolf was amongst the hobbits, “a nuisance and a disturber of the peace.” LOL. When Hiddles tweeted that pic of himself last night I couldn’t even go to bed right then as I had planned. I was too wound up. Anyhoo, that smile and laugh just brightens my day. It’s infectious, makes me smile myself and that is priceless. Anyway, nothing wrong with liking more than dude!!!! Different actors with different qualities to appreciate. I’m sure you have lots of fangurl love to share!!!!

  4. Well, if anyone says that about you, I’ve got your back! 🙂 I don’t even think I can count how many times I’ve looked at that picture now. I totally agree about the smile and laugh, they really do brighten your day and just make you smile in return. I also am not sure how long I scrolled through Tom Hiddleston stuff on Tumblr this evening. IT IS ALL YOUR FAULT!!!! But I don’t mind, because I’m enjoying myself!

  5. Hi Jas and Snicker’s Mom,
    “Live and let live”, I always say. You have to follow your heart. Mine still leads to Richard Armitage–after my hubby, of course. Giggles!
    Cheers! Grati ;->

  6. Tom Hiddleston is a real doll! I’ve succumbed to his charms and I’m following him on twitter. As most people know, Richard Armitage is not the only actor who appeals to me, so now there’s one more in my posse, LOL!

  7. Pingback: Legenda 28: Stuff worth reading « Me + Richard Armitage

  8. Hey Jas,

    I can totally appreciate the Hiddles charm. He actually isn’t very dissimilar from Michael Fassbender to me. They both have super skinny body builds and incredibly infectious grins. What I like about both of them is how open and unguarded they are in their interactions with the press. They’re like happy children with their happy, open and loving comments for the world.

    I jokingly refer to Hiddles as a golden retriever puppy, or a tadpole / polliwog because he reminds me so much of a happy toddler.. Hiddles also has the greatest grasp by far of utilizing social media (his twitter account, for example).

    Armitage is an entirely different beast to me – beautiful, certainly – but also guarded, insecure, conflicted, and complex. Flawed, but heroically so.

    Every person we come to admire is an opportunity to expand our own capacity for loving, is what I have always believed. So for me, the more the merrier. 🙂

  9. Pingback: Artist Armitage vs. Armitage’s art: A developmental thought on art, communication and fandom « Me + Richard Armitage

Blog at WordPress.com.