It’s Official. Richard Should Keep The Beard.

Beard naysayers beware. A new report suggests that beards are a good thing. “While both dead sexy and totally awesome, beards are also a boon to your overall health.”

According to the study there are several benefits to sporting a beard:

  1. Protection from the sun.
  2. Reduced pollen inhalation.
  3. Shielding from the wind which keeps men “looking young and fresh-faced.”
  4. Less acne and possible bacterial infections associated with shaving.

With Richard’s beard soon to make a return for additional filming for The Hobbit,Β this study seems like a sign! Richard is meant to be bearded. There’s just no arguing with science. πŸ˜‰

Need further convincing? Just look at the photo evidence:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , ,

Post navigation

61 thoughts on “It’s Official. Richard Should Keep The Beard.

  1. Your photo study is flawed…you have no unbearded comparanda πŸ™‚

  2. Beardist! πŸ˜€

  3. Mmmmmm…. β™₯β™₯β™₯The Beardβ™₯β™₯β™₯

  4. He is hansome either way!!!! But I agree he looks especially scrumptious in full beard.

  5. He wears a beard as well as any man I have seen. So–uber-manly. Love the stubble, too, ever since Guy. *sigh*

    • I can’t think of any man I’ve seen who wears a beard better than RA. I definitely agree about the stubble though, yum. πŸ™‚

  6. I KNEW IT!

    • We just needed some science on our side! πŸ˜‰

      • Gotta love beard science! Maybe I could study that? Hmmmm which subject shall I pick for my first assignment?…….

        • The effect of beard burn on sensitive areas of female anatomy, naturally.

          • I don’t know, that might be an advanced course. πŸ˜‰

          • That is a very good essay question. And I shall study it carefully and thoroughly, perhaps that could be my question in Sydney? “Richard, would you be willing to take part in my scientific study?” ( no need to go into details in front of the other fans πŸ˜‰ )
            Oh, and also…..*SQUEAL* Angie, I’m totally discombobulated over the beard burn – my mind has gone to some very unwholesome places for a sunday morning. I’m sure there is a cream for it?

            • If there isn’t there should be, a cream, that is. Armitage Aficionados Ointment.

              • How about I study that too? Which creams combat beard burn. I could call it Bec’s Beard Burn Barrier cream.

                • Ah, and I like the alliteration! How about Bec’s Beard Burn Barrier Balm??

                  • Perfect, I shall have to develop it after getting some Richard beard burn on my ‘delicate parts’ all in the name is science you understand!

                  • I’m so getting arrested in Sydney

                    • LMAO! I get back from eating dinner and you’re getting beard burn in the name of science and getting arrested. I’ll make sure to put some funds aside for the bail fund! πŸ˜‰

                    • Thanks mate, expect a call from the Sydney police station- I’m allowed 1 call right?

                  • Leigh

                    Back in the day, I used a British product from ICI called “Savlon” to treat beard burn and it worked beautifully. Amazing stuff. I could even wear jeans the next day.

                    • Bollyknickers

                      LOL!

                      And Leigh wins the prize for the naughtiest comment if the week.

                      And she looks so innocent…

  7. I LOVE Richard’s clean-shaven look best, but he does also look great with a beard as long as he keeps it nicely trim and low cut close to his face like he has it in the photo shoot. I don’t think I would care for the Grizzly Adams mountain man beard on him. Numbers 1,2 and 4 makes sense, but number 3 I am not convinced. I don’t think a beard makes men look younger and fresh faced. Beards to me makes a man look older and in some cases a bit distinguished..

    • I totally agree about keeping the beard neatly trimmed. When it starts looking shaggy, such as the Captain America premiere, it isn’t as attractive. That being said, I’m really glad that clean shaven doesn’t seem to be much of an option for him. Might be smooth in the morning, but it sure doesn’t look like it stays that way for long! πŸ˜‰

      I could be wrong, but I think the younger and fresher look didn’t have so much to do with the bearded look, but the protection the beard provides the skin, keeping it younger looking.

      • That’s the way I interpreted it, that the beard serves as a shield to protect the skin from environmental elements–sun, wind, pollution–thus keeping the skin healthier and younger-looking. As as we saw during the Hobbit press junket, he still has lovely skin that could be envied by men much younger than he is.

        And no matter how attractive the guy, maintaining a neatly trimmed beard is important IMHO Look at heartthrob Brad Pitt’s horrible billy goat beard that he had for a while. Throw in a knit cap and he DID look like a vagrant. πŸ˜‰ I like RA’s beard best when it is nicely groomed, definitely.

  8. Leigh

    Beardist, indeed! LOL In my view, Richard is the only man I have ever seen who looks this great , this madly attractive, with a beard.

    • I will wear the label “beardist” proudly! πŸ˜‰ There are some men who just look so dashing with a beard, and Richard is definitely one of them.

  9. bollyknickers

    Another flaw in this argument is that most men do not look like Richard Armitage – who could make most things look desirable (although i think Xenia has a point about the Grizzly Adams look).

    So i would add another reason beards help a bloke stay healthy: less likelihood of an STD due to less women prepared to sleep with them.

    • *high five* Nice! πŸ™‚

    • Oh, but for that to be a flaw in the argument the study would have had to center around Richard’s beard, not beards in general! πŸ˜‰ I think you are right about him being able to make most things look desirable. He’s just too handsome for his (read our) own good.

      LOL about the STDs. There are plenty of women who love beards, so I’m not sure that is truly a benefit. πŸ™‚

  10. Indeed, Richard is gorgeous with a bearb, but I prefer without… or only subble, like when he was playing Guy of Gisborne (swoon…). πŸ™‚

    • I may loudly profess my love of the beard, but I’m just as fond of the stubble. He really was gorgeous as Sir Guy. πŸ™‚

  11. Snickers' Mom

    I can live without beard burn all over my body, so I will pass on the beard. πŸ˜‰

    • Leigh

      Pass the Savlon, full speed ahead!

    • Um, the passing on the beard burn suggests that said beard would touch your skin. Do you need to share some information with the rest of us? πŸ˜‰

  12. Beard burn all over your body?……LOL!!!

    Guy of Gisborne is very sexy too with the slight stubble but I find that kissing a man with stubble can scratch up your face too because you are feeling the ends of the hair just as they are coming out. Having said all that, there is a sexy masculine element to the feel of a man’s stubble against the skin of your own softer face.

    • Beard burn and the scrape of stubble may be uncomfortable, but given that none of us is ever going to experience those sensations from Richard’s beard, means we can all appreciate whichever look we find most appealing. I enjoy looking at RA sporting facial hair, largely because I don’t having to worry about the realities of his facial hair in the real world! πŸ™‚

  13. Following your arguments, it seems RA is right with the future trend of female beards then ;o)

    • If only women grew beards. It could save us all a load of money we spend on facial creams and such. πŸ˜‰

  14. Lovely slideshow! Richard Armitage looks good hairy, stubbly, clean shaven, or shorn. Ha!

    But there is another benefit of RA’s stubble and beards–exfoliation benefits to his lover when kissing. So for fans like me with vivid imaginations–and understanding hubbies–Richard Armitage wearing stubble or beard is just another aspect of our skin care regimen. Ha!

    • I like the way you think Grati! Who needs an exfoliating scrub when they could just make out with Richard. πŸ˜‰ Only in Dreamland. πŸ™‚

  15. katie70

    Stubble rules! Beard ok ( it took me along to get to that place….it just didn’t look like him ) and clean shaven not bad. I really do like the picture with the pink shirt and it was in my memory last July when I had to take a painful nerve test on my left leg ( from my fractured left ankle ) there was no nerve damage. I just keep that picture there till it was over, the doctor told me I did a good job and I told him that I just thought happy thoughts. What could be more happy.

    • I’m very fond of the stubble look too. But when I saw the article about the beard study I just couldn’t help myself. πŸ˜‰ The pink shirt photo is one of my favorites as well. That’s really wonderful that the picture was able to help you through that experience.

  16. Pingback: Richard Armitage Legenda 74: Stuff worth reading | Me + Richard Armitage

  17. *wakes from coma* GRRRRRRRRRRR! NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

Blog at WordPress.com.

