We interrupt your regularly scheduled programming to bring you this PSA:

Did you know that major sporting events are surrounded by a surge in human trafficking? In fact:

73542_10152532451270089_694571112_n

  • I came across this article via Facebook and it was really illuminating.
  • This website actually calculates the number of slaves that work for you based on your food consumption and products you own. I was shocked by my own results–58 slaves! 😦
  • There are all kinds of organizations that work nonstop to help end human trafficking all over the world. In the USA the State Department even suggests 20 ways that individuals can get involved in the fight.

There are all kinds of ways that we as individuals can work to help bring an end to human slavery. As we here in the United States of America prepare to enjoy the Super Bowl, I urge everyone to take a moment to not only educate themselves but find something they can do to help the estimated 27 million people who are enslaved worldwide and the estimated 2.4 million people trafficked each year.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , ,

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “We interrupt your regularly scheduled programming to bring you this PSA:

  1. obscura

    This is truly horrifying – I live in a pretty small community, and the local news here has been covering a story of allegations of human trafficking at a local restaurant. We think we have come so far, but we as a species still have so far to come. Thanks for bringing this to a wider audience!

    • It really is horrifying. I’ve spent time in countries where children and teenagers don’t go out after dark for fear of being abducted and forced into some form of slavery. But I had no idea that such large numbers of people were enslaved and trafficked here in the US. It is mind boggling and sickening. You said it well, humanity still has a long way to go.

  2. Wow. That’s eye-opening. Thanks for bringing this to our attention, Jas.

    • It was really eye opening for me too, which is why I felt the need to post about it. There are so many things we can do to help. Even little things that probably won’t have much impact on our lives, but could make a difference elsewhere.

  3. Leigh

    I have lived in port cities in the U.S. where human trafficking was rife. It’s a huge fight to stop it, and every voice counts.

    • Leigh, I imagine port cities probably have the highest incidents of human trafficking. But like you say, every voice counts. I’m still figuring out how best to use mine.

  4. Truly shocking. Another thing that I just found out is quite prevalent is human trafficking for sex slavery. As humans we have sunk as low as we can.

    • It really is shocking, Xenia. Sex slavery was the aspect of human trafficking I was most familiar with. But I was almost completely clueless as to how many things I use on a daily basis help to perpetuate slavery. I’m going to have to take a good hard look at what items I can do without or substitute with fair trade replacements.

  5. Servetus

    I took that “slaves” quiz and got 30, which was really horrifying. The World Cup is another major offender.

    • I was appalled by the results I got from that quiz as well. I’m sure the World Cup is a huge offender. I was also reading an article about how trafficking was prevalent around the London Olympics.

Blog at WordPress.com.

