Crazy Dream

Only once before have I posted about dreams on this blog. Not because I’m disinclined to share, but because I so very rarely have dreams that I remember. For some strange reason, I’ve been having a lot of vivid dreams of late and all of them have had to do with Richard Armitage in some fashion or another. I don’t remember all of them, some of them I just wake up with vague impressions.

For instance, there was one that I know was a racy dream involving Richard and one of his Hobbit costars (I’m not naming names, but they reportedly went to see a film together). Gotta admit, I was a bit disappointed that I didn’t have a clear recollection of that one. 😉

Then there are the dreams that I can remember vividly when I wake up. So, here is one of those:

The cast of The Hobbit are doing a run across the United States of America as part of the promotion for The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey. To draw more attention, the powers that be decided it should be a race. I am the competition. Me against the whole of the cast.

As dreams often do, this one shifts in and out. I know I’m running and I get flashes of different landscapes as I progress across the country. Suddenly I’m standing in a hotel in Oklahoma City and overhear a conversation that has me livid. The cast are going to hop on a plane and fly the rest of the way to LA. However, once they get there, they are going to pretend that they’ve actually run the whole distance.

Pissed off at the injustice of it all I yell, “This is bullshit!” before storming off and down an escalator.

I hear Richard calling my name and see in my peripheral vision that he’s following me. As I get to the ground floor, I start running east–seeing as there isn’t any point in continuing with this farce of a race. I’m under an overpass at a major interchange when he finally catches up to me and apologizes. He tells me that he knows what they’re doing is horrible, but they don’t really have any say in the matter.

Then the dream faded.

Crazy, right? It is probably a good thing I don’t really go in for dream interpretation, because this one was just off the charts. 😉

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , ,

Post navigation

20 thoughts on “Crazy Dream

  1. obscura

    Dreams always appear so random to me, but I would love to see what the dream analysts among us have to say… Incidentally—do you run?

    • They always seem random to me as well. I’ve never remembered a dream that really seemed like it could be real.

      I hope the dream analysts will have fun with this one. I’d love to hear what they make of it!

      The running question is interesting. I don’t run, but I walk on the treadmill. However, I’ve been considering doing Couch to 5K. Have you heard of it? Maybe that played into the dream somehow.

      • obscura

        In my most remembered dreams, I’m either evading a tornado, or an excellent ice skater – um, right…I don’t think I want to know what that means 🙂

        • Are there Black Sky fics out already? Maybe you’re preparing for the release of the film! 😉 I’d imagine it would be fun to be a talented ice skater! Lord knows that dreams are the only place that would be possible for me. 🙂

      • obscura

        I’m a little weirded by Black Sky…I had a recurrent tornado dream for years that involved my wheelchair bound grandparents and the appearance of tornado after tornado – I haven’t had it in a long time, and I’d kind of like not to have it again…but I think it is more stress related than anything. The only Black Sky fic I read had NOTHING to do with tornados…it is on DF if you haven’t seen it.

        I have an alternate where I am an awesome roller skater too…frustrated skater much?

        • A dream like that would make me leery of seeing Black Sky. Isn’t that the way it always goes? My recurring dreams have always been horrible. Why can’t they be nice dreams? I’ve not seen that fic. I’ll have to head over there and check it out. Maybe you have an unrealized desire to be a roller derby star! It could explain the skating dreams 😉

      • obscura

        You know, the things this little obsession leads me to do…I almost always avoid seeing ginormous blockbuster movies — I’ve seen the Hobbit twice so far. I also have a general aversion to disaster films, but I’ll almost certainly be queueing up to see Black Sky too. I am not going to run and I am not going to ski! (I still have some convictions 🙂 )

        • This obsession leads to people to do all kinds of things they wouldn’t normally. For instance, I could never have pictured myself reading slash fics about a dwarf and a hobbit. but well… I’m so glad to hear you have your priorities straight with the lack of running and skiing. 😉

      • obscura

        There is that isn’t there….Oh well, I’m happy to have joined the ranks of Pervettes – I think my own writing will likely stay pretty vanilla, but who knows 🙂

  2. jazzbaby1

    Oh, wow. I’ve dreamed about him a couple of times but never anything racy.

    • I woke up and had very strong impressions, I guess you’d call them about that racy dream, but nothing concrete. That’s probably a good thing. I’d have been blushing for days. 😉

    • obscura

      I really have to taper of on the An Archive of Our Own reading – I have had some very strange dreams 🙂

      • I did wonder if some of my reading there was playing with my subconscious, but then wouldn’t I be dreaming of Thorin instead? 😉

        I’m curious about your strange dreams. Care to share?

  3. obscura

    Well, in this context, Thorin is Richard, Richard is Thorin right? For my own dreams, I can never remember details for more than a minute or two after I wake up, but there was something about gender morphing dwarfs that I assume came from something that I read…

    • That’s probably true about Richard and Thorin being interchangeable. I’ve been making myself type the dreams up when I wake up so I don’t lose them. The gender morphing dwarves have got to be a result of fanfic reading! LOL.

  4. Servetus

    Fwiw, my totally uninformed opinion is that this is a fandom / creativity / frustration related dream — running=movement, you’re working on your creativity, you have to go step by step by step (as w/drawing), whereas the people you’re focusing on get to move ahead by plane and make doing something really hard look simple, even though you’re lying, and you’re frustrated. Armitage — one of your crushes — comes back to tell you that they have to move forward, away from this creative movement, at the speed of the people who dictate it to them even if they didn’t want to. Your crush tries to apologize for not having to go through the same things you do to get to the same place … one reading, anyway.

  5. Snickers' Mom

    Here’s my 2 cents because I just can’t resist. Maybe you feel like you’re going right along being a fan and being supportive of RA (running with him, the competition is all in fun after all) pouring your time and energy into fan stuff. At the same time, some part of you feels like he isn’t being honest with you or us as fans. That maybe he is aware of the manipulation and goes along with it and that leaves you feeling let down and betrayed because you just want him to be honest. I don’t know if that makes any sense.

    • Ooh, this is interesting. Maybe my subconscious is concerned about how he seems to be growing in half inch increments. 😉

  6. Pingback: Legenda 63: Stuff worth reading « Me + Richard Armitage

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

