New Year, New Project

I’ve been thinking a lot about new things I’d like to try in 2013. I love experimenting in Photoshop. Making videos has been a fun if at times frustrating experience. And I really need to try and push through the writer’s block and proceed with my John and Maggie fanfic. The last of those is pretty high on the list, because I hate to leave something unfinished. Plus I don’t want to let down the people who keep asking me about the next chapter.

There is something new I’d like to try this year, which I may turn out to be total crap at. However, I’ll at least be able to say I tried. Really, I think that’s what matters most. So here it is. I’m going to try and work my way through drawing tutorials. Eyes, nose, mouth, hair, shading, highlights…the whole shebang. Ultimately, my goal is that I’d like to be able to draw a passable portrait of Richard Armitage.

I always liked the idea of art class in school, although I never enjoyed the actual classes very much. I just couldn’t proceed at the pace my various teachers wanted. To this day I still wonder if I might have been any good if I could have just worked more slowly. The tutorials seem like a plausible way to accomplish this–no teacher standing over my back with an allotted time frame!

I’m going to invite you all along for the ride with me. I’ll share my attempts, no matter how horrendous, in hopes that I can document a noticeable improvement as I go along. If you happen to know of any great tutorials for beginners, please pass them along!

To kick things off, here is my first attempt at working my way through a tutorial for drawing an eye:

Eye-First Attempt

It is pretty laughable, but well, it is only my first attempt. Like how the iris isn’t even round? I’m looking forward to the day I can actually draw one that looks like Richard Armitage’s eye! Until then, I can look at his beautiful eye next to my not so beautiful drawing. 😉

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , ,

Post navigation

14 thoughts on “New Year, New Project

  1. I like the book Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain. It helped me “see” better, if that makes sense. Good luck on your new goals.

  2. Snickers' Mom

    I think its a good first attempt.

  3. bollyknickers

    As someone who never progressed beyond stick figures, i think ‘laughable’ is being very hard on yourself. i would be delighted to produce something half as good.

    • The whole, “I’m my own worst critic” thing definitely applies here. That’s part of why I want to document my attempts, that way I can see any progress I make! I’m sure your stick figures are great. 🙂

  4. You’ve started on a beautiful journey. 🙂
    A first attempt is the stepping stone to a bigger path, and I’m looking forward to seeing the attempts along the way.

    • Thanks, Zan. I’m hoping the stepping stones all lead to something I can look at and be proud of! 🙂

  5. I am very impressed! I can’t wait to see how you progress. Kudos to you following your creative urges! 🙂

  6. Servetus

    I always want to laud you for pursuing your creativity. The journey of a thousand miles begins with a first step, blah blah, but it’s really all about finding what we love and doing it for love of that thing, I’m starting to think. Glad you are finding things you love.

    • Thanks, Serv. I figure if something interests me, I should give it a try. If I don’t then I’ll never know if it could be something I like, love or even turn into a passion.

  7. Great first try! The recommended book will be very helpful. The key to drawing the eye is understanding shapes. Take the pic, and turn it upside down. Seriously. Study the shapes. Now draw it. You’ll be shocked what you learn.

    • Thanks for the encouragement, Judiang. I’m going to find a copy of that book, as it sounds like it would be quite useful. Turning the image upside down is a good idea too. I’ll have to try that.

Blog at WordPress.com.

