Hmmm…Stubble and why I like it.

I like everyone else have been thrilled to see all of the pictures coming out surrounding Black Sky. Whether the pics come from a lucky fan who is generous enough to share her experience of meeting Richard Armitage or they come from Todd Garner, I’m a squeeing bundle of happiness.

But there is something missing from those pics. Facial hair. No, I’m not talking about the beard…although if you read here with any kind of regularity you know what a huge fan I am of the beard. No, I’m talking about stubble. I love the stubbled look on Mr. A and it goes beyond just my personal preference to see a little hair on a man’s face.

I knew that my love of the stubble had to do in part with the structural makeup of RA’s face. But couldn’t quite pin down what exactly it was about the stubble that I liked. After chatting with another fan, I have a firmer grasp of what the stubble does for his features.

I’ve diagrammed this to highlight what I see. (Sorry, Serv, this looks a lot like what you do in your anatomy posts, but I didn’t know how else to convey my thoughts.)

 

While Mr. Armitage has a striking jaw under any circumstance, the stubble makes the lines seem stronger, more defined. The hair on his upper lip, rounding down around his mouth and the hair on the upper portions of his jaw highlight his cheek structure. It provides something of a frame that works to emphasizes his cheek bones.

Let’s contrast this with one of the new photos:

Without any facial hair, his jaw seems to fade into his neck. The striking lines are much less visible. His cheekbones which are highlighted in the first picture, thanks to the stubble, almost just blend in with the rest of his face here. In my opinion, this makes them appear fuller.

Clearly there are many factors that could influence these observations–lighting, angle, a variation in weight, etc…

Mr. A is incredibly attractive either way. But for me, the stubble wins hands down.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

14 thoughts on “Hmmm…Stubble and why I like it.

  1. servetus

    Hey, I didn’t invent or copyright the technique. 🙂

    I would add to this that the pattern of stubble shaving also changes by character and might be intended to say something. Look at John Mulligan’s stubble in comparison to Guy of Gisborne’s. Guy’s is intended to say “dangerous” and possibly “dissolute,” while Mulligan’s almost gives Armitage a round face and seem to attempt to signal something about order and innocence (albeit falsely).

    I can’t imagine a school teacher in OK getting away with a stubble beard, no matter how orderly, for very long. He’d get written up and warned by his principal, I’m sure 🙂

    • Are you assigning me homework…comparing stubble? Normally I’m not a big fan of homework, but I think I can make an exception in this case. 😉

      I’m trying to think back to high school. I lived in Missouri as a teenager so we shared a border with Oklahoma, does that count? Several of my male teachers had stubble. But in the case of Gary the high school teacher from OK it is probably best he be clean shaven. Students are already likely to swoon even without the sexy stubble. 🙂

      • servetus

        I don’t know how it is now — probably things have changed as well as styles have changed our definitions of what’s acceptable. I know that teacher dress in Wisconsin is much less formal now than it was two decades ago. I have the impression in TX that it is rather more formal.

      • servetus

        oh, and re homework: well, if you need to do it in order to understand the subject, it could be dangerous to skip.

      • I’ll be your study-buddy for the stubble comparison homework! 🙂

      • servetus

        something else that occurs to me — I always forget that you’re a bit younger. I was in HS during Miami Vice. Don Johnson did a lot to change the status of the 3-day-beard in the U.S. and make it an “acceptable” style.

  2. Oh, I love the stubble, always have, perhaps in part because Guy introduced me to Mr. A and he certainly rocked the stubble. I agree it helps define the beautiful structure of Richard”s face and really gives extra emphasis to the masculine line of the jaw. It’s very–manly.

    Also it follows such a clean line–he can sport stubble without it looked scruffy as it does on some guys’ faces where it’s sort of on the–patchy?-side. Sometimes I sing to myself (to the old Steve Miller song “Jungle Love” ) Stubble love! It’s driving me mad, it’s making me cra—zzzzy . . . 😉

    • I think the fact that the first chaRActers I encountered all rocked the stubble probably plays a significant role in my preference. You are sooo right about the clean line of the stubble too. I’m off to look up “Jungle Love,” I’ve never heard it. 🙂

      • Loved me some Steve Miller back in the day. He also did “Fly Like an Eagle” and “Abracadabra.” Actually my “Pretty Thing” video with RA and the ladies is one of his more recent works, a departure from the rock days. You would be too young to be familiar with his music. 😉 Yes, I think you are right, having gotten to know Richard through Guy and then Lucas with some John Thornton in between, I became very fond of that look. As Serv pointed out, Don Johnson made “designer stubble” (along with t-shirt with suits and loafers with no socks) quite popular back in the day.

  3. And don’t forget the exfoliation benefits in kissing a slightly stubbled beard man as a fun part of our skin care regimen.

  4. ♫ I want a stubble kind of love … ♫ 😉

  5. Pingback: Legenda 44: Stuff worth reading « Me + Richard Armitage

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

