Time Zone Pondering

One day until Mr. Armitage’s birthday!

All the various ways to celebrate we have going on in fan world:

There is still time to SpReAd the Love by donating a pint of blood or pound of food within your local community.

 

Don’t forget about Agzym’s birthday countdown. The bags are fabulous with Gisby’s cartoons!

I expect tomorrow to be filled with all kinds of fun stuff and goodies on the various blogs. After all, this is more or less a holiday for us Armitage admirers.

So now, about this time zone pondering…I’ve been trying to decide which time zone would be best for posting my special birthday post. Mr. A was born in England, so GMT would be a good choice. However based on his physical location on the globe (Detroit, MI) his birthday will start at midnight EST. Then of course, I could always just stick with my own time zone, CST. Hmmm, so many choices.

What do you think?

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , ,

Post navigation

21 thoughts on “Time Zone Pondering

  1. servetus

    I’m going with GMT (with apologies to the Australian fans).

  2. Jas, I have been debating the same thing. Should I go with GMT, or stick with the time zones here, since RA is actually gracing our lovely shores at present? Still haven’t decided. Decisions, decisions . . .

    • servetus

      My mother always told me I had to wait until the actual moment I was born to start celebrating my birthday. Since I was born in a very different time zone than the one that I grew up in, this created a certain amount of frustration … 🙂

    • At least I’m not alone, Angie! I did finally decide and scheduled my posts (I did one for The RAD as well).

  3. Hi Jas et al,
    I went back and forth myself–and chatted a bit with CD last night about it, with regard to KRA Week posts timings.

    But since I had some quirks the that last time that I switched my blog to London time (for F3)–and since Richard Armitage is current filming in the U.S. in “my” timezone–I decided to stay on my on timezone.

    So, I will post for KRA 2012 Week with an RA birthday greeting on Aug. 22 at 12:04am–in 12 hours CST (Illinois). I scheduled it last night (it won’t be live until 12:04am Aug. 22):

    http://gratianads90.wordpress.com/2012/08/22/41st-birthday-greetings-to-richard-crispin-armitage-at-the-start-of-kra-2012-poem-82212-gratiana-lovelace-post-255

    Cheers! Grati ;->

    • Thank you, Gratiana, for kicking the KRA event off and what better time for that than the one RA currently is in!!! I am so looking forward to your lovely post!

  4. How perfect for you, Grati! You don’t need to change a thing since he’s in your time zone. 🙂

    • Hi Jas,

      Yup on being in the same time zone as RA! To think that we might be gazing at the same moon each night. Sighhhhh!

      But I did finally figure out the time zone thingy–due to Serv’s post stating that London had already ticked over to Aug. 22nd. Ha! So I changed to London time zone and went live with my post.

      And thanks CDoart for your kind words. And Kudos to you for your coordination of KRA 2012 Week and the whole King Richard Armitage initiative. Brava!

      Cheers! Grati ;->

  5. Mezz

    I don’t even have a blog and I’m wondering when is the best time to send birthday wishes Richard’s way! 🙂

    • Hi Mezz,

      RANet will still accept birthday wishes 20 hours London time on August 22 at http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/birthday12.html

      Here is their exact wording on the time: ” The Birthday message page will close for new messages at 20:00 UK time tomorrow. Thank you for all your birthday wishes! An email has been sent to Richard’s agent to notify him.”

      Cheers! Grati ;->

      • Mezz

        Thanks Grati, that’s sweet of you! I have already left a message there. Sounds nuts, but my “wondering” was actually more about what time it is for him, and what’s he doing, if he’s celebrating in any way. *sigh* Yeah, I need to get a life. 😉

        • Mezz, he’s in Michigan. So it won’t be his birthday for two more hours. I’m guessing he won’t celebrate until tomorrow (if he even has time to celebrate).

  6. I “SpReAd the Love” by giving my blood a few days ago. I donate it regularly since more than 15 years and I’m happy to do it. 😉

    I wish everyone a Happy Armitage Day. 🙂

    • That’s great, April! I’m not allowed to give blood because of various places I’ve spent too much time, so I do the food donation.

      Hope you had a wonderful Armitage Day!

  7. Leigh

    A friend celebrated her husband’s birthday with a special gift every week for the whole year. I rather feel that way about Richard…

    • servetus

      I had friends in grad school who gave each other a gift for every year of the birthday person’s life. I thought that was kind of neat.

      • That is neat, Serv. The older you get the cheaper each present would have to be though. 😉

        • servetus

          yes — forced ever greater creativity, which was what I thought was good about it.

          • Creative and homemade presents are my favorites! Even if they are little, monetarily inexpensive things they usually have more meaning than some expensive store bought gift.

    • That’s really cool, Leigh. Celebrating the people we love most regularly sounds like a good idea to me! 🙂

Blog at WordPress.com.

