Tribute Photoshopper?

I was chatting last night with another RA fan who likes to play with Photoshop as well. I was showing her an animated gif that I really liked and wanted to try to emulate. Part of me feels like I’m being a copycat. Another part of me wants to compare what I’m doing to being a tribute band.

Tribute bands do what they do because they love the bands. They love the music of a particular band so much that they give their all to sounding and performing just like their heroes. I won’t go so far as to say that various gif makers are my heroes, but I do love what they create, enough so that I want to discover how to do it myself. So I’m not going to call myself a copycat, rather I’m a tribute Photoshopper! 😉

The most recent gif that inspired my tribute Photoshopping can be found here. I couldn’t help but wonder how it was made. After some trial and error, here is what I came up with:

 

In case you can’t tell, I’m still stuck on those Comic Con photos and interviews! 🙂

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , ,

Post navigation

24 thoughts on “Tribute Photoshopper?

  1. servetus

    that is an amazing GIF!

    On the issue you raise, I have two reactions. The first is that almost always people who are mastering a new medium start by imitating people they admire. The second is that the structure of the software facilitates that by making a certain number of techniques easy to use and widely available to large numbers of people. In other words — tribute okay, especially if you acknowledge the sources.

  2. Thank you very much, Servetus! I think this is probably a case of, “imitation is the sincerest form of flattery.” Now that I think about it, you’re right, whether it is painting, drawing or any other artistic medium, people almost always start with imitation before developing their own style.

  3. Teuchter

    As I haven’t the foggiest idea how to even BEGIN to make a gif – animated or otherwise – I’m giving you a standing ovation for the one above! I thought he was fantastic at Comic Con. He almost looked like a new person in the way he handled all the attention, applause and adoration. The way he strode onto that stage, smiling, waving to the crowd and looking so fantastic is an image forever stuck in my mind! WOW!!

    • Thanks so much, Teuchter! I’ve got basic gifs down, now I’m all about the tutorials I come across. I thought he did really well at Comic Con too. Personally, I preferred the one on one interviews, he seemed happy to let others talk when they were interviewed as a group–great personality trait, but leaves a bit to be desired for fans.

      • Teuchter

        Oh I’m with you on that! The one on one interviews were by far the best! They certainly made it possible for his undoubted intelligence to shine through and he was SO much more animated!

  4. Well done, Jas. I knew you could do it!!!!!!!! ComicCon gave us a wealth of material to work with and you have certainly put it to good use!

  5. Fantastic! 🙂

  6. Mezz

    Jas, I have the same concern as you now that I’m playing around in Photoshop and photo editing websites, “playing” being the operative word since I don’t seem to be getting anywhere, even with the help of tutorials. The possibilities offered by the editing programs are endless, so using the example of someone’s work that I like is an obvious starting point for me as it gives me an objective, instead of fiddling aimlessly with one tool after another.
    I love your gif, it’s fabulous!!

    • Mezz, I would encourage you to find something simple that you would like to try and make. Then be very specific when looking for tutorials in Google or whatever search engine you use. The more specific I am, the more clear cut the directions tend to be. Using both an example and tutorial might help you get the results you want. 🙂

      So glad you like the gif!

      • Mezz

        Sorry I’m late back to this Jas, thanks for the advice. I’ve actually come across a couple of tutorials which finally flicked the switch in my brain, and I’ve managed to produce about three decent gifs now, albeit with only about four images each. I still get too confused otherwise, but I’m further ahead than I was when I made the above comment! I’ve spent more time than I care to admit at the laptop fiddling with these. I truly thought I would never get the hang of it! 😀

  7. servetus

    In a way I think this is partially what fanfic is for many beginning writers — the characters and big plots are already there, and they get to practice using them.

  8. Snicker's Mom

    very neat!

  9. Super cool!
    I think you’re mentioning two different things here. It’s different when you get inspired by a technique, then transform it into your own gif. As Servetus said, a there’s a limited amount of options, so you’re using it as a tutorial to create something of your own.
    So, in fact you’re not a tribute photoshopper, you are more of a remixer or sampler photoshopper.
    Another thing is when someone takes your idea, doesn’t bother to add anything new to it, and posts it as their own. At times like this I just think there’s plenty more ideas I can come up with, and tomorrow I’ll move on to something else, whereas the imitator is forever stuck with sloppy seconds 😉

    • I get what you are saying. I like the idea of being a remixer or sampler. As long as credit is given to the person whose work was the inspiration, I think we’re safe. Those who try and pass of other’s artwork as there own need help. There has to be some kind of cry for attention there if they feel the need to receive praise without doing the work.

  10. It’s a totally new thing for me! I’ve been too distracted with other things (except for revisiting one bearded comic-con RA portrait) love the tall cut-out overlaying these gifs! So thanks!
    I just finished the hunger games so tribute brings up something entirely different! LOL

    • The person who posts these kinds of gifs on Tumblr has made them for several actors. The tall cut-out over the gif set is what really drew me to the style. I’m so glad you like it! I just saw The Hunger Games a few days ago, so I know what your saying about tributes. 🙂

  11. I love it ! 🙂
    I’ve also been admiring this person’s gifsets for a while now, and I don’t see your gif as copycat but rather as tribute, like everyone else.

    • Thanks! Every time I saw a new one of these style gif sets on Tumblr I was more and more inclined to try and make one. Eventually I just gave into the urge. 🙂 I’m glad that tribute seems to be a good choice of word for describing what I’m doing.

  12. Fantastic gif, love it!

Blog at WordPress.com.

