I heard the news today, oh boy

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-18921492

I’m saddened and shocked at the news I woke up too. I’m sure some story will come out about how the shooter had a mental illness or some other rationalization  for his behavior. Isn’t that always the case? But it won’t be much comfort to the family and friends of those who lost their lives, simply because they went to see Batman.

I’ve always tried to see the good in people, but the more I see of the world, the less I believe that there is good in everyone. Some people seem to be predisposed to evil. What a sad world we live in.

May those who lost their lives rest in peace. May their families find some comfort. Many thoughts and prayers for the injured, may you live long, healthy and happy lives.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , ,

Post navigation

15 thoughts on “I heard the news today, oh boy

  1. A friend has told me that this morning. It’s a very sad news… 😦

    The Warner has cancelled the french “avant-première” in Paris because of that. More information here :

    http://www.premiere.fr/Cinema/News-Cinema/La-Warner-annule-l-avant-premiere-francaise-de-The-Dark-Knight-Rises-suite-a-la-fusillade-3443582

    Sorry, it’s in French, but you can use Google Translator. 😉

  2. I was shocked and deeply saddened 😦 It’s one of those things that I can’t quite wrap my brain around. I always said that if we all put our positive energy to good use, we’d be able to fix the world. Today I’d settle for a world where such tragedies don’t occure.

  3. Leigh

    What a horrible tragedy. My prayers go out to those who lost their lives and to the people who love them.

  4. servetus

    Reblogged this on Me + Richard Armitage and commented:
    I can’t help thinking — they were fans, like us. Just people who badly wanted to be the first to see a film.

  5. This is so tragic and so senseless. So many victims–all those injured, those who lost their lives, their families, and yes, even the family and friends of the perpetrator–all asking themselves, “Why? Why did this have to happen?”
    As you say, Serv, these were just ordinary folks who were fans of a particular film franchise/actors, eager to see the production. When you go to the movies, you expect any violence and mayhem to take place on the screen . . . you don’t expect to lose your life.

  6. Reblogged this on the armitage effect and commented:
    Reblogged from Me, My Thoughts, and Richard Armitage

  7. sloan

    To think you go from a weekend at Comic Con where fans were reveling in anticipation of seeing the movie — to this week and this horrific tragedy occurs. My thoughts and prayers go out to those who have been affected — it is unimaginable what they must be going through.

  8. This is truly tragic for all concerned. My thoughts and prayers are with the victims and their families and friends–and with those who are caring for them.

  9. Tereza Tassuett

    What a terrible news. I´m so sad for those people who lost yours loved ones and those who were hurt. The question is: How to know if you have a lunatic one from your side?
    I think that should exist laws so that all the theatres have metal detectors.This isn´t the only tragedy which has happened lately.How many people need to die to that the governments wake up?

    • Such a terrible tragedy. I am so saddened for those who lost loved ones and those who have been affected by the violence. However, keep one thing in mind. A metal detector wouldn’t have helped in this case. The police believe the shooter used an emergency exit door to bring weapons into the theater.

      • Teuchter

        I guess if someone is intent on committing a crime they will find a way. So very sad.

  10. Another jarring tragedy. There is no logic or meaning to these kind of events. Senseless means exactly that – it was an action taken by an irrational mind. This doesn’t really lessen my conviction that we all carry the possibility of good. Something obviously has gone terribly awry with the individual who carried out this act. The fact that everyone believes that this is undeniably horrific, indicates that civilization unequivocally denounces random killing – which is a good thing!
    I don’t make light of the loss of life and suffering caused. But if we are supposed to learn anything from this I would say it isn’t to climb deeper into the pit of judging others as ‘bad’ but to be a part of the world that gives every struggling person a chance to be a better person. Is it possible that this individual’s life might have turned out differently if he had met more kind and beneficent people along the path of his life? I don’t know. Maybe it’s completely naive, but I will still try to be kind to everyone I meet. You never know what they may be struggling with or whether a simple smile or deed from a stranger may lift their day.

  11. Teuchter

    Shocked and very saddened by this unbelievable tragedy. Like others my prayers and thoughts go out to all who have been touched by this unspeakable horror. The world seems to become a scarier place the more we hear of such awful events.

  12. This news is dreadful. Like anyone, I was distressed and outraged. Although it was planned by the perpetrator, it was just pure random bad luck for the victims. One act which took a few minutes will affect the victims and their families for the rest of their lives.

Blog at WordPress.com.

