PJ’s one smart cookie.

I came across a link to an article where someone talked about being disappointed in Sir Peter Jackson’s choice to only screen 2D, 24 fsp footage at Comic Con. While I understand the personal disappointment, (especially if said person was going to be there and was looking forward to the new format) I can’t help but think that this was a really brilliant move on PJ’s part.

We’ve already seen how people reacted to a small sampling of the footage in 3D and more frames per second. Since movies have been shown the same way for decades, it is going to take more than a few minutes for our minds to adjust to a new way of viewing movies. I expect to find it awkward for the first few minutes of viewing the movie come December, but then grow accustomed to the new format.

What does Peter Jackson want to highlight:

I decided to screen the Hobbit reel at Comic-Con in 2-D and 24 frames per second, so the focus stays firmly with the content and not the technical stuff. If people want 3-D and 48fps, that choice will be there for them in December.

Seems reasonable to me. If a new format is going to be distracting in the short term, people won’t be focused on the content. So, for preview purposes, give them a format that they won’t have to adjust too. Rather than focusing on the hyper-real quality of the footage, they can focus on the scenery, script, acting and so on. Plus, as PJ pointed out, when it comes time to see the movies in the theater people will have a choice. But at Comic Con, they get what their given. So going with the familiar format seems appropriate.

I don’t mind mentioning that usually someone videos these things and posts them to the internet for the rest of us to view. The 2D format will be beneficial for that purpose too, as those of us watching from our computers wouldn’t have the means to watch in 3D.

And because I can’t resist:

I really want one of these Thorin posters!

Update: If you haven’t seen PJ’s facebook post yet, check it out here.

Someone’s feeling like a mind reader at the moment! J/K 😉

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

16 thoughts on “PJ’s one smart cookie.

  1. I think focusing on the content is definitely the smart way to go. i I could be wrong, but I don’t think you are allowed to videotape anything on the screens like that during CC–from what I read when I still thought I was going. I don’t think they want inferior copies out floating around. But I am sure WB will release another trailer soon so everyone can see it.Tis the season to start the publicity blitz.

    • I’m sure you aren’t supposed to. However, I’ve watched enough bootlegs of footage from Comic Con over the years to know that people still do it.

  2. Snicker's Mom

    Exactly, very few were commenting on the actual content, they were too distracted by the format. I’m so looking forward to hearing what they get to see!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks for sharing.

    • Yes, I would much rather hear people focus on the content than the format. If I don’t end up liking 3D and 48 fps, I can always go see it again in 2D or 24 fps! 😉

  3. Pingback: Thorin Oakenshield’s boots « Me + Richard Armitage

  4. Mezz

    I really want one of those Thorin posters too!!

    If there’s one thing that PJ is, it’s a smart cookie. Concentrating on the content is what’s most important at this stage. I, for one, am more interested in the movie itself, not the format, and I daresay not everyone is going to have the opportunity to see the full 3D/48fps version in cinemas anyway.

    • That image of Thorin on the poster is great!

      Clearly I agree that PJ is a smart man. It is his job to make the movie look as good as possible. After the complaints from CinemaCon is it any wonder he would rather show teaser footage in a medium that will make people focus on the movie itself, not the frame rate? That’s a good point you make about many people not even having the option to see it in the new format. Lots of theaters won’t have upgraded their equipment to support it.

      • OT but just wanted y’all to know Frenz has copies of the screencaps of KK’s comments incriminating herself and she is at Comic-Con and is following through on this with the proper authorities. Don’t know what if anything will come of it, but–YESSSSSSS. At least we are not lying down and taking this.

        • That is awesome news! I don’t know if she can do anything. But I’m a firm believer in “you reap what you sew!”

          • Yeah, no guarantees but at the very least, KK may start to realize that there are consequences to her cavalier behavior with other people’s lives.

  5. Aribee

    Good on you all!

  6. Beachbaby

    Well “ill wind” and all that – at least one consequence is that I am now following two great blogs that I wasn’t before “the event”. 🙂 Woohoo!
    And yes I too would also love one of those posters. I just can’t stop looking at those beautiful new pics. THUD!
    And on a tangent (so to speak LOL).That James bloke, I don’t believe he’s a friend of Richards. I found his comments, well, a bit creepy.

  7. servetus

    Did you see his extended explanation on FB? If nothing else at all that man knows how to reach his target audience, the people who care, and win them over.

  8. fitzg

    He is a master/intuitive publicist. I plan to see both versions. Avoided 3-D stuff for a long, than saw TinTin and was pleasantly surprised. 😀 Technology rages on, and if used judiciously in film-making (well, do we wish to be back in the Magic Lantern/pre-talkies eras?)That poster is simply gorgeous.

    Fedoralady, “Ve..erry in-ter-esting”. Cat out of the bag. Hoisted petards. And all that. Yay frenz!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

