Fun with Photoshop

All those new beardy pictures have inspired me to play with Photoshop some more!

As excited as I am for the fans who got to meet him, I really wanted to take one of those pictures and make it just Richard Armitage. So, I cropped the picture from here and found a tutorial on how to use the clone tool to remove the lucky lady who got to meet him. His forehead and nose were rather shiny in this pic, so I also found a tutorial on how to remove the shine. Here’s the results:

Seeing as I’m hopeless when it comes to drawing and painting, I’ve been fascinated by the tutorials about turning a photo into a pencil sketch in Photoshop. This was as good a time as any to give one of the tutorial a try. I did one in color and one in black and white.

Anyway, just thought I’d share my experiments. 🙂

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , ,

Post navigation

16 thoughts on “Fun with Photoshop

  1. Very cool, Jas! Lovely subject, too! I’ve been playing with Photoshop & various tutorials as well. It’s a lot of fun and I’m learning something to boot! 🙂

    • Thanks! He is a lovely subject, isn’t he? 😉 All of the photoshop tutorials out there are really fantastic and fun. I love that if I want to try something new, I just go to Google and can almost always find a tutorial! I would love to see some of the things you’ve been trying in Photoshop. 🙂

  2. Photoshop is indeed fun! Good job! I confess I have enjoyed Photoshopping out some of Richard’s co-stars in screencaps and publicity stills. 😉 I do have a background in art ed and getting to paint and draw with the computer tools has been a great experience–it’s rejuvenated my interest in my longtime love of art.

    • It is certainly fun! I really enjoy seeing all of the photos you play with in Photoshop, it is clear you are having a blast. 🙂 So glad to hear that playing with the program had rejuvenated your interest in art…I’m sure your subject matter doesn’t hurt either! 😉

      • I really love this and yes, yes, yes, I would adore it if all manner of signs and billboards were up featuring Thorin. Out here in the country, we don’t have a lot of billboards–maybe I should erect one. 😉

        • Billboards where I live don’t normally feature movie posters, but I’m hoping some of the ladies who live in big cities will get a chance to see him on billboards (even if he has to share the space with Martin Freeman). I like the idea of erecting one yourself….just put it out in the front lawn! 😉

  3. servetus

    You are really good at this.

  4. Very lovely Jasrangoon. 🙂

  5. Jas, I am suffering from lack of sleep. I meant to put the above comment with your post of Thorin signs.My computer wasn’t cooperating earlier when I tried to leave a comment there. I am glad you enjoy my efforts with PS and I am glad, too, it has revived my interest in art. Yes, the subject matter is grand. Honestly, he begs to have his portrait painted or a sculpture made of him. He’s such a classic, yet distinctive beauty.

    • I figured as much, Angie. I hope you manage to get some good sleep before you head of to Comic Con…gotta look your best if you get to meet Richard! 🙂 I agree about the portraits, I love seeing all of the paintings and drawing that fans have done from photos. So, imagine if he ever actually sat for a portrait how wonderful it would turn out!

      • I think part of my problem re sleeping (other than the excitement over CC) is feeling the effects of TS Debby. Big atmospheric changes mess with my FMS and my arthritis and it’s hard to rest. I definitely want to be rested enough to enjoy seeing you know who. I looked at myself in the mirror earlier and decided I needed some color so I got out the Tarte blush and some lipstick and gave myself some. 😉 Normally I don’t wear it around the house. Wed. I am getting my hair trimmed and colored and brows waxed. Richard is an artist’s dream model IMHO, between those wonderful features and Greek god physique.

  6. Nicely done, Jas!

  7. Thanks, Grati!

  8. Pingback: Armitage beard aesthetics « Me + Richard Armitage

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

