Road Tripping

When I was a kid, we would make the nine hour drive to visit my grandparents, aunts, uncles and cousins in Oklahoma about once a year. Maybe I should have been most excited about seeing family on these trips, but the truth is, seeing these people once a year (and sometimes not even that often) rendered them virtual strangers to me. So I know this is going to sound cold, but the thing that my brother and I always looked forward to the most was the mandatory visit to Braum’s Ice Cream and Dairy Stores. Even now, thinking about Braum’s I can imagine the taste of Pistachio Almond or Butter Brickle flavored ice creams.

Anyway, as an adult I travel that way even less. But I’m getting ready to head out on a roadtrip in a couple of days which will take me across seven states–including, Arkansas, Oklahoma and Texas. What do all three of these states have in common? I’m sure you’ve already guessed…Braum’s. Now I know this sounds pathetic, but I’ve already mapped out a couple of locations along I-40 that we’ll just happen to pass around time for say, an afternoon snack. 😉

There are a lot of things I’m looking forward to on this trip besides ice cream.

The Hot Air Balloon Museum in Alburqurque:

The Petrified Forest:

The Grand Canyon:

The Red Rocks of Sedona:

Chase Field, home of the Arizona Diamond Backs:

The Cadillac Ranch in Amarillo–I’ll have to get a can of spray paint before visiting this place! 😉

I’m sure there’s a lot more to see and I can’t wait to take it all in. But until then, I’ll dream of ice cream!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Road Tripping

  1. Very nice pictures, thanks for sharing them. 🙂

    • Your welcome, April. I’m very much looking forward to seeing these beautiful locations in person!

  2. Pistachio ice cream is my absolute favourite too – Yummmmm!!! Dribbling in my keyboard now!

    • You have good taste, ChrisB! 😉 I think part of the appeal is that there weren’t ice cream shops near where I lived when as a kid that had pistachio flavor, so it was something special that we looked forward to.

      • They don’t do pistachio at all in the UK (well, not at any of the usual outlets) so I always have to find an ice cream shop when we’re abroad to make up for this!

  3. … have a great trip Jas!

  4. Snicker's Mom

    Have a good trip and save some ice cream for me!!!! I am partial to mint choc chip (preferably w/out the green food coloring). 🙂

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

