Good for you, George Clooney!

I love to see people who are in the spotlight use their fame to draw attention to worthy causes. However, I tend to be leery of celebs giving money to causes and then telling the whole world about it. Perhaps it is because of my Southern Baptist upbringing. Don’t get me wrong, I want them to give the money, I was just raised in an environment where expecting praise for your good deeds was frowned upon–but if that is what celebrities need as motivation to spread their wealth around, so be it.

All of that to say, my heart swelled a little with pride today when I read about the arrest of George Clooney, his father Nick, and several other people who were participating in an organized protest outside of the Sudanese embassy in Washington D.C. It is one thing to give money, that in all likelihood, you will never really miss. It is another thing all together to willingly put yourself in a situation where you might be arrested. I think it shows a depth of devotion to the cause that is admirable. The atrocities that have been and continue to be committed in Sudan are unpardonable.

Good for you George Clooney! I know that there are plenty of average citizens who put themselves in these kind of situation as well, and I applaud them. The thing about someone like Clooney, however, is that his arrest is already a major headline all over the internet, and probably on news channels the world over. What a way to draw attention to a cause he feels passionately about!

*****************************************************************

We’ll quickly return to our regularly scheduled programming: the handsome and talented Richard Armitage.

Don’t forget that FanstRAvaganza continues. You can check out all of the posts here.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , ,

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Good for you, George Clooney!

  1. Bless him, that was wonderful! It’s true, KIm K going to Haiti because everyone dislikes her to get some browie points and positive publicity is lame. This brings attention to the problem, not the silver hunk!

    • Yes, I have very little patience for people like Kim K. People who are famous simply for being famous will do anything for a little attention–her trip to Haiti didn’t do anything to shed light on what was going on, at least from what I saw in the media. In George Clooney’s case, he seems to feel an obligation to use his fame to draw the public’s attention to important issues in the world. I admire that.

      I’ll admit to having thoughts other than about Sudan when I read about his arrest. For instance, I thought, “Wow, that’s one way to get some father-son bonding time!” 😉

  2. Hi Jas,
    My hubby and I were just talking about Clooney. He walks the talk.
    Cheers! Grati ;->

    • Grati, I agree that he seems to really walk the walk. That is what I find so admirable, that it isn’t just a publicity stunt for him.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

