30 Days of Richard Armitage-Day 15

A role you would love to see him in:

So, this isn’t going to be one of those deep choices. I’ve seen other people’s picks for this: of course Richard III would be great (and a dream come true for Richard Armitage) and at least two people have commented that they would like to see him play Raskolnikov in Crime and Punishment. These are both amazing picks. I’m going to go a totally different direction with my choice. I would like to see him play Fitzwilliam Darcy…not Mr. Darcy from Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice, but Fitzwilliam Darcy from Sally Smith O’Rourke’s novel The Man Who Loved Jane Austen.  Here is the book description from Booklist:

New York artist Eliza Knight stumbles across an antique dressing table that includes the added bonus of secreted letters, apparently between Jane Austen and a real-life Mr. Darcy. Caught up in her romantic notions about Austen’s Pride and Prejudice and the possibility that Darcy may have been more than Austen’s invention, Eliza enlists the aid of an eccentric researcher as well as a handsome and mysterious Virginia horse breeder, Fitzwilliam Darcy. Three years earlier, on a horse-buying junket to England, Darcy had a life-altering experience that makes him now anxious to buy the one letter written by Austen before it goes to auction at Sotheby’s. For Eliza, the letter represents a possible fortune; for Darcy, it represents possibly requited love. O’Rourke alternates between the past and the present in this fascinating novel that pays tribute to Jane Austen’s enduring ideals of romantic love.

Darcy as a real person! Yes, please. Richard Armitage playing a character that has to deal with the impossible existence of time travel–yup, that sounds good to me too. The man dressed in both period costume and modern attire, not a bad combo. And did I mention he would be back on a horse! Plus, he’d get to work on an American accent. In all seriousness, if anyone was going to play the man who inspired Jane Austen’s Mr. Darcy, I can’t imagine anyone else in the role but Richard Armitage.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , ,

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “30 Days of Richard Armitage-Day 15

  1. I love your choice! That would be an excellent role for Richard. Partial as I am to time travel, it fills my need for romandce AND a bit of Sci-fi 🙂

  2. Oooo haven’t read the book, but you betcha’ I will! And I will have a lovely image of Fitzwilliam Darcy. Cheers!

    • I was heading to sit in a waiting room all day and ran into a bookstore on the way. I grabbed the first book that looked decent and I quite enjoyed it–how can you go wrong with Darcy. Didn’t know who RA was at the time, but I reread the book a couple of months ago, and he was very firmly planted in my mind as the Darcy character! 🙂

  3. I really enjoy reading Jane Austen continuation novels. Right this minute, I’m reading Mr. Darcy’s Diary on my Kindle. I’ve not yet read The Man Who Loved Jane Austen but that one sounds a treat! I agree the role sounds like custom fit! I don’t want RA to play a traditional Mr. Darcy either.

    • I don’t know if this would go under the genre of continuation novel–more sci-fi meets Austen. Colin Firth did such a good job with Darcy that I don’t really see a need for a remake. But, a Darcy who isn’t Darcy, but is Darcy would be a great role for RA (yeah, I know that’s a really convoluted sentence). I’ve not read Mr. Darcy’s Diary. Is it good?

    • Fun possibility, Jas.
      And what Bccmee said.
      I have read a book called “Mr. Darcy’s Daughters” about he and Lizze having 5 daughters and the amusing travails that ensue.
      Cheers! Grati ;->

  4. I remember a time when Colin Firth as Mr Darcy in BBC’s Pride & Prejudice was the bee’s knees in the Costume Drama hunk department. Oh, how things have changed. I still like to watch it, especially that I feel a fondness for Elizabeth Bennet that I have never done for Margaret Hale.

    • North & South and Thornton way trumped P&P and Darcy from the very first time I saw it. I do still like P&P, but it just doesn’t hold that special place in my heart that it used too. 😉 Elizabeth Bennet is one of my all time favorite romantic heroines. I’m right there with you in never developing a particular fondness for Margaret. Sometimes I wish someone would write a fic where Lizzie and Mr. Thornton meet. Wouldn’t that be an interesting pairing!

  5. 🙂 Can you imagine Mrs Thornton head to head with Elizabeth Bennet? That would be one heck of a battle?

    • Oooh, that fire Elizabeth exhibited when Lady Catherine came to see her…I’m picturing that coming out in a confrontation with Mrs. Thornton. 😉

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

