Catching Up + RA Articles

The last few days have been rather busy and while I’ve still managed to keep up with reading my favorite blogs, I haven’t had time to post anything new. I have several recipe posts that I need to type up, so if you come here for those kind of posts, they will be back in the next day or two.

I am certainly not the first to mention this, and I’m sure I won’t be the last, but there were some interesting articles for Richard Armitage fans and Hobbit fans that came out the last couple of days. Firstly, there is this interview with MTV. I always enjoy reading Mr. Armitage’s interviews…the thoughtful, intelligent answers he gives. What stuck out the most in this interview was where he discussed growing his beard.

I grew my own beard after the first block because I felt that it was restricting my face. The jaw is so connected to emotion that I wanted to have that free. It made such a huge difference.

His fans are all well aware of how expressive Mr. Armitage’s face is and how much that plays into each character he has portrayed. I have been curious to see how all of the prosthetics would affect this aspect of his performance. To read that he’s taken this into consideration and made adjustments in order to give his face more freedom, has allayed some of my worries.

Then there is this article at movies.com about who exactly Thorin Oakenshield is. This was a nice overview for people unfamiliar with the story. For anyone out there who was worried that there wouldn’t be much Thorin, this article should calm their fears. Curtis also points out what a layered character Thorin is…just the kind of role that Armitage’s fans wish for him. One of the things that stuck out most for me in the article was this:

But the dwarf who is most likely to become a household name is the more fully titled Thorin Oakenshield and we think not only will we have an unforgettable character on the first Hobbit day, but also the actor Richard Armitage will become a household name.  While there are many who know and love the English actor, that day and the films, will change his career forever.

I suspect that Thorin will probably be to The Hobbit what Aragorn was to LOTR. Hopefully this role does give Mr. Armitage more exposure as an actor, although being a household name seems like a tall order. My wish for him is that he won’t have to deal with an excessive invasion of his privacy, but that it will provide him with a plethora of amazing opportunities to grow as an actor (and for us to see him in some wonderful roles).

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , ,

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Catching Up + RA Articles

  1. I read both those articles eagerly. It’s an exciting time to be a Richard Armitage fan! I think it’s probably an exciting time to be Richard Armitage too! 😉

    • Bccmee, I think we all read those articles eagerly. 🙂 I think your probably right about it being an exciting time for him too!

  2. Perfect post for me 🙂 been busy myself too – thanks for the highlights! LOVE your banner!!

    • I hope things slow down a bit for you Fanny! Glad you LOVE the banner…I’m pretty fond of it myself. 😉

Blog at WordPress.com.

