A Cold + Extra Computer Time = My First GIF

My cold is winning. It has now been joined by a sore throat. So, for the most part I’m still lounging around and trying to rest and recover. I can’t even count how many mugs of peppermint tea I’ve drunk. All of this lounging has given me a little to much face time with my computer. However, thanks to all this computer time I’ve learned the basics (and I’m sure it is the absolute basics) of making an animated GIF file. While I’m certain this is not terribly exciting for anyone else, I am pretty proud of how this first attempt turned out. Seeing as I am a big fan of both Richard Armitage and J.R.R. Tolkien, I thought it only appropriate that my first GIF feature Thorin Oakenshield and his sword Orcrist. So, if you happen by here (and feel inclined) let me know what you think.

FYI: It took me forever to get the GIF to work in this post. I finally figured out that an animated GIF has to be posted in full size to work in WordPress.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: ,

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “A Cold + Extra Computer Time = My First GIF

  1. Delightful animated gif! I started making mine from stills too. 🙂 Have fun and get well soon!

  2. By the way, not sure if you realize, but I recently posted an animated gif tutorial on my blog. It’s in 4 parts and here’s the link: http://fanvideos.wordpress.com/2011/11/04/animated-gif-tutorial-part-1-of-4/. Hope you can work it out! Contact me through my blog form with any questions. 🙂

    • Thanks bccmee. I saw that you had posted a tutorial. I’m looking forward to going through it when I get a chance!

  3. Wow! I love it! Don’t look like a first attempt to me!

  4. I have no idea how to make one of these. Bravo for figuring it out! I’m really digging the way you cropped the pic! Enjoying it all over again.

    • Darkjackal, I had to read a lot of tutorials on the internet to figure out how to make it. Thanks for the feedback!

  5. Pingback: It’s been a year! « Me, My Thoughts, and Richard Armitage

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

