Captain American + Richard Armitage = Squeee

I did tell you Richard Armitage would probably be mentioned on this blog, and what better day than today, when his first major motion picture was released on DVD. Marvel movies have always held a certain appeal for me. Probably an inevitability, with an older brother who collected comic books. But my excitement over Captain America was greatly increased when it was revealed that my favorite actor was playing a baddy. Even if I weren’t a fan of comic book movies I probably would have wanted to see this just for the roughly 10 minutes he appeared in the movie. Seriously, who wouldn’t want to see this on the big screen?

Richard Armitage as Heinz Kruger in Captain America: The First Avenger Picture from http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/

As with all of his roles, he seemed to inhabit the character. In this case, that meant being a ruthless Nazi, who would do anything to achieve his objectives. It was a great 10 minutes! Given Mr. Armitage’s reported fear of water, I also found it highly admirable that he would do the underwater scenes for the role.

On the whole I really enjoyed the movie. The way the beginning of the movie provides a tie in to the end was a nice touch. Initially I was concerned about Chris Evans playing The Captain. He had after all already been Johnny Storm the Human Torch, but I thought he did a really great job with this character. I read one review that said he played Steve Rodgers too earnestly, but this is Captain America, he is supposed to be earnest. Tommy Lee Jones was well, pretty much Tommy Lee Jones and it was a good fit for the movie. It was also nice to see a strong female lead in Hayley Atwell, who didn’t once have to be rescued! Hugo Weaving was also a convincing villain, as if we would expect anything less from him (I still think, “Mr. Anderson” any time I see him on-screen). I will say I preferred Weaving’s performance with his actual face, as opposed to the Red Skull.

I’m looking forward to seeing Chris Evans reprise the role of Captain America in the Avengers. I think his Captain will play well against Robert Downy Jr.’s Iron Man. Unfortunately, I’ll have to wait until the Hobbit: There and Back Again comes out at the end of next year to see Richard Armitage on the big screen again.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: ,

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

